Wine Tasmania is the peak body for Tasmanian grape growers and winemakers. It was established in late 2006 to replace the Vineyards Association of Tasmania, bringing with it a new focus to build the profile of, and market, Tasmania’s premium cool-climate wines.

It is a company limited by guarantee and overseen by a Board of Directors. The current board comprises three independent directors - Martin Rees (Chair), Nick Haddow and Guy Taylor, and four member directors - Rebecca Duffy (Holm Oak Vineyards), Joe Holyman (Stoney Rise Vineyard), Tim Lyne (Spring Vale Vineyards) and Samantha Connew (Stargazer Wines). 

Wine Tasmania is an independent, non-profit organisation, financed by its member businesses, with additional funding sourced from corporate sponsors, the Australian and Tasmanian Governments.  The business employs Chief Executive Officer, Sheralee Davies; Technical & Extension Officer, Paul Smart and casual Project Officer Allison Williams.

Wine Tasmania represents in excess of 98% of the Tasmanian winegrape production, with more than 90 statewide industry members and 42 associated member businesses.

Our Mission

Wine Tasmania is the peak representative body for Tasmanian grape growers and winemakers, working together to assist them to be recognised as world leaders in the sustainable production of premium cool-climate wine.

Our Vision

To establish Tasmania as a benchmark wine region of world renown.

Strategic Plan

Wine Tasmania operates against a clear Strategic Plan, which is reviewed annually. The current plan was released in July 2019 and is available for download below. 

Wine Tasmania Strategic Plan 2019-21 (Released: July 2019)

Also available is the Constitution of Wine Tasmania, reviewed and updated in October 2014.