Our Organisational Structure

Based in Hobart, the statewide business is overseen by a six-member Board of Directors consisting of four industry directors and three independent directors (i.e. not from member businesses). The independent directors are Chair Scott Dawkins, Guy Taylor and Martin Rees. The four member directors are Will Adkins, Rebecca Duffy, Anna Pooley and Jeremy Dineen. A profile of each Director is outlined below.

The business employs chief executive officer, Sheralee Davies,a part time technical and extension officer, Paul Smart, and a casual project officer Allison Williams.

Board of Directors

  • Scott Dawkins

    Scott Dawkins

    Wine Tasmania Chair, Scott Dawkins is a Chartered Accountant with Deloitte based in Hobart. He previously ran his own professional accountancy practice and advises clients involved in all aspects of the wine sector from growers, winemakers, wholesale, retail and export.

    Scott has a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) from the University of Tasmania and is a Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

    Appointed in February 2007, Scott provides corporate governance, tax, accounting and general business advice to the Board.

  • Guy Taylor

    Guy Taylor

    Guy Taylor is the former Executive Director Marketing at Tourism Tasmania.  He has over 25 years’ experience in culture strategy, branding and organisational design. Before founding the US offices for Blundstone he was the co-creator of the "Who is James Boag?" campaign. He’s been a strategy consultant in North America, the EU and the Middle East, has written for the Age and the West Australian and been a writer in residence at Yaddo colony in New York and the Cite des Arts in Paris. He’s the recipient of a 2013 National AMI award for marketing effectiveness and a keynote presenter on brand and culture strategy to the AICD, the CSIRO and the Australian Chambers Business Congress. Guy managed the Wine Tasmania brand evolution project in 2014 and has his own brand strategy consultancy.

    Guy is a University Associate at the Australian Innovation Research Centre (AIRC) at the University of Tasmania. He is involved in the Wine Tasmania marketing committee and was appointed to the Board in April 2015.

  • Martin Rees

    Martin Rees

    Martin was a Partner of KPMG in Tasmania from 1989 to 2015, including Managing Partner of the Launceston office for his last 12 years before deciding to retire and move to a part time consultant role. Since then he has focused on furthering his career as a Board advisor and Director.

    Martin also acts as a commercial advisor to a number of private and public sector boards including Vos Construction and Joinery Pty Ltd. (current board advisor, 300 employees),  Banjos Corporation Pty Ltd (current board advisor and Chair of board meetings, up to 1000 employees), Hansen Orchards Pty. Ltd (current family board advisor, 50 FTE’s and up to 500 casuals) and Liv-eat (current board advisor and Chair of board meetings, up to 250 employees)

    Martin is a Director of St Lukes Health Insurance Ltd (current Director, 40,000 members and $100m under management), Pets Domain Ltd (current Chairman, 25 stores Australia wide), Australia China Business Council Ltd (Current National Director) and St. Giles Society Ltd (Current Chairman).

    He was appointed to the Wine Tasmania Board as an Independent Director in October 2016. 

  • Will Adkins

    Will Adkins

    Will has a 25 year history in the Australian wine industry and is a graduate of Roseworthy Agricultural College and the University of Tasmania. He spent 12 years at St Hallett Wines in the Barossa Valley in production and marketing roles and in 2000 was appointed General Manager. 

    A long held desire to become involved in the Tasmanian industry was fulfilled when he was appointed General Manager of Tamar Ridge in 2002, where he continues to be employed. 

    Will is involved in the marketing committee for Wine Tasmania, represents Wine Tasmania and the Tasmanian wine sector on the Winemakers Federation of Australia's Small Winemakers Membership Committee and is on the Executive of the Tamar Valley Wine Route.  He was appointed to the Board of Wine Tasmania in November 2010.

  • Rebecca Duffy

    Rebecca Duffy

    Bec completed a Bachelor of Agricultural Science majoring in Oenology at the University of Adelaide in 1998.

    Following the completion of her degree Bec worked vintages in McLaren Vale, Napa Valley and Coonawarra, before securing a fulltime winemaking position at Capel Vale in Western Australia where she spent 5 years.

    Rebecca returned to Tasmania in 2006 and has been the co-owner and winemaker at Holm Oak Vineyards for the past 10 years. Over this time she and her husband Tim have established Holm Oak as one of Tasmania’s leading family owned wine brands.

    In 2015 Bec was the inaugural winner of the Owner/Operator award in the Australian Women in Wine Awards, and was named as one of WBMs 50 stars of 2015; and in 2016 Bec was named the Tasmanian winner of the RIRDC Rural Women’s Awards.

  • Anna Pooley

    Anna Pooley

    From the first Pooley family harvest in 1988 – Anna knew she wanted to be a winemaker. She moved to South Australia to study winemaking at the University of Adelaide and her first vintage was at Tatachilla Winery in McLaren Vale in 2002. After graduating, Anna began working as a winemaker at Wolf Blass winery in the Barossa Valley in 2003. She has undertaken several northern hemisphere vintages including winemaking roles in Austria and Tuscany, Italy. She then spent several years focussing on white and sparkling wines across a range of wineries including Rosemount, Penfolds, Yellowglen and Wolf Blass.

    Anna’s experience with cool climate winemaking led her to the Heemskerk and Abel’s Tempest labels. Anna’s efforts resulted in multiple medals and trophies, not to mention a serious nod to Anna’s winemaking credentials; Dux of AWRI Advanced Wine Assessment Course in 2008, Finalist in the Young Winemaker of The Year 2008 and winner in 2010, WBM Top 50 Most Influential Wine People of 2009, WBM Top 50 Stars of 2010. An accomplished wine show judge, she also completed the exclusive Len Evans Tutorial in 2012.  Anna is now based in Tasmania where she is winemaker for Pooley Wines. She was appointed to the Board in November 2015.

  • Jeremy Dineen

    Jeremy Dineen

    Jeremy has been Chief Winemaker at Josef Chromy Wines since its inception in 2004.

    He has extensive wine industry experience with numerous vintages in Western Australia, McLaren Vale and the Goulburn Valley. His intimate knowledge of Tasmanian viticulture and of the complexities associated with contract winemaking was attained during five vintages at Hood Wines in Cambridge with as many as 38 vineyards under his care.

    In 2005 he was an inaugural participant in the Winemakers’ Federation Future Leaders Program. He is an accomplished wine show judge, graduate of the Len Evans Tutorial and has a Bachelor of Agricultural Science (Oenology) from the University of Adelaide.

    He has served on a number of national industry committees, been a member and past Chairman of Wine Tasmania’s Technical Committee and is a member of Wine Tasmania’s marketing committee.

    He was appointed to the Board of Wine Tasmania in November 2015.